What Are Chakras???

Chakras are energy centers located in our bodies that control our different organs, emotions and our quality of awareness. We have many but mostly we concentrate on 7 main chakras. The root or base, second or spleen, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye and crown. They begin at your pubic area and end, of course, at your crown. They spin in a clockwise direction and are cone shaped.

When any of these chakras are out of balance you may notice that your outer life is not in order in some way. Maybe you've got a nagging cough that won't go away, you're stuck in a constant cycle of low self worth or typically if you're a creative person and lately you've been struggling in that area. These can all be signs of an imbalance.

Over the next weeks I'll be going through each chakra and describing what organs they affect and what areas of emotions they can control. During each of the Reiki sessions that I do I always begin with balancing the chakras so that we begin with a 'clean' slate. It can also be a wealth of information for me in the following healing session.

Today let's start with the root chakra! It's located at the pubic area and is associated with the color red. (The color is interesting because sometimes you may find yourself drawn to the color you need for the chakra that is out of balance!) This is the area connected to the energy of survival. This is what urges us on to eat, sleep and take care of ourselves in general. It also keeps us safe.

If this chakra is out of balance you may notice that you're not sleeping as well, you're depressed or you're not eating as well as you usually do. You could also find that you're angry or frustrated lately. This can also affect your adrenal glands, bladder, genitals and spine.

Stay tuned for more information regarding your chakras!

Live.Grow.Be in Balance


Recent Posts

See All